Salta gli elementi di navigazione
banner
logo ridotto
logo-salomone
SBSC Dipartimento di Scienze Biomediche Sperimentali e Cliniche

Gruppo Livi

Coordinator of Research Team

Prof. Lorenzo Livi

Full Professor

Research Team/Laboratory of “Radiotherapy”

e-mail  lorenzo.livi@unifi.it

telephone number +39-055-7947264

 

 

Brief biographical sketch of the Coordinator

Born on October 4th 1972

ACADEMIC POSITIONS

2002- 2011 Research Associate in Radiation Oncology, University of Florence – Italy.

Since 2012 Full Professor in Radiation Oncology, University of Florence – Italy.

Since 2013 Chair of Radiation Oncology Unit, Careggi Hospital – Florence, Italy.

CURRICULUM STUDIORUM

1997 Received his medical degree from the University of Florence (110/110)

1998 Member of Medical Association of Pistoia, Italy.  (Medical license number: 1640)

2001 Specialization in Radiation Oncology, University of Florence (70/70 cum laude)

2009 Specialization in Medical Oncology, University Cattolica “Sacro Cuore” Rome (70/70 cum laude)

 

Director of Postgraduate School of Radiation Oncology

 

Member of the following Scientific Societies

  • Junior Member of the Scientific Committee of AIRO (Italian Association of Radiation Oncology) from 2004 to 2008.
  • National Coordinator of the AIRO-GIOVANI (AIRO-YOUNG) section from 2006 to 2008.
  • Member of ESTRO (European Society of Radiotherapy and Oncology).
  • Member of EORTC ( European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer)
  • Member of SIRM (Italian Society of Medical Radiology).
  • Member of AIOM (Italian Association for Medical Oncology).
  • Member of AIRO (Italian Association for Radiation Oncology)
  • Member of AIRB (Italian Society of Radiobiology)

 

Member of the editorial board of the following Journals

  • Clinical and Translational Radiation Oncology (ctRO)

 

Research Team

1)      Lorenzo Livi, Full Professor, lorenzo.livi@unifi.it

2)      Monica Mangoni, Associate Professor, monica.mangoni@unifi.it

3)      Isacco Desideri, Research Associate, isacco.desideri@unifi.it

4)      Icro Meattini, Physician (AOUC), icro.meattini@unifi.it

5)      Daniela Greto, Physician (AOUC), daniela.greto@gmail.com

6)      Pierluigi Bonomo, Physician (AOUC), bonomopierlu@gmail.com 

7)      Silvia Scoccianti, Physician (AOUC), silvia.scoccianti@unifi.it

8)      Gabriele Simontacchi, Physician (AOUC), gabriele.simontacchi@unifi.it

9)      Beatrice Detti, Physician (AOUC), beatrice.detti@unifi.it

10)  Benedetta Agresti, Physician (AOUC), beatrice.agresti@unifi.it

11)  Vieri Scotti, Physician (AOUC), vieri.scotti@unifi.it

12)  Vanessa Di Cataldo, Physician (IFCA), dicataldovanessa@gmail.com     

13)   Samantha Cipressi, Physician (IFCA), sam.cipressi@tiscali.it

14)  Agnese Vannini, Fellow, agnese.vannini@unifi.it

15)  Mariangela Sottili, Postdoctoral Fellow, mariangela.sottili@unifi.it

16)  Giulia Salvatore, Postdoctoral Fellow, giulia.salva@gmail.com

17)  Francesca Simontacchi, Clinical Research Data Manager, datamanager.rt@sbsc.unifi.it

18)  Noela Gori, Clinical Research Data Manager, datamanager.ng.rt@sbsc.unifi.it

19)  Nicola Flego, Clinical Research Data Manager, datamanager.nf.rt@sbsc.unifi.it

20)  Cinzia Ciabatti, Resident, cinzia86@hotmail.it

21)  Cristina Muntoni, Resident, cristinamuntoni@yahoo.it

22)  Carlotta Becherini, Resident, carlotta.becherini@libero.it

23)  Juljiana Topulli, Resident, juljanatopulli@yahoo.it

24)  Camilla Delli Paoli, Resident, camilladellipaoli@libero.it

25)  Giorgio Caramia, Resident, giorgio.caramia@unifi.it

26)  Emanuela Olmetto, Resident, e.olmetto@gmail.com

27)  Francesca Terziani, Resident, francesca.terziani@libero.it

28)  Marco Perna, Resident, marco.perna17@gmail.com

29)  Luca Visani, Resident, l.visani88@gmail.com

30)  Monica Lo Russo, Resident, monica.lorusso26@gmail.com

31)  Roberta Grassi,Resident, grassi.roberta89@gmail.com

32)  Luca Dominici, Resident, luca.dominici89@gmail.com

33)  Maria Ausilia Teriaca, Resident, mariaausilia.teriaca@unifi.it

34)  Pietro Garlatti, Resident, pietro.garlatti@gmail.com

35)  Virginia Maragna, Resident, virginiamaragna@yahoo.it

36)  Donato Pezzulla, Resident pezzula.donato@libero.it

 

Current research interests 

Radiobiology, Radiosensitization of tumors and effect on normal tissues,  Cancer Immunology, Innovative technologies in Radiation Oncology (tomotherapy, gammaknife, cyberknife), Hypofractionated Radiotherapy, Targeted Therapies, Breast Cancer, Lung Cancer, CNS Tumors, Childhood Tumors, Head and Neck cancer, Soft Tissue Sarcomas, Prostate Cancer, Hematologic Malignancy, Gynecologic Cancer, Gastrointestinal Cancer. We are committed in preclinical, translational and clinical studies. Radiobiology laboratory of Radiotherapy Unit belongs to a common laboratory equipped with facilities for basic and advanced molecular methods and for in vitro/in vivo experiments. Radiotherapy Unit of Careggi University Hospital is an anticancer Center committed to chemotherapy and radiotherapy treatments with almost 3000 new patients every years. It has 5 LINAC and tomotherapy for patients treatment as well a Gamma Knife and Cyberknife.

 

Current / recent sources of funding

 

            1) Ente Cassa di Risparmio Firenze

            2) ITT Istituto Toscano Tumori

 

10 best publications of the last 5 years

 

1: Meattini I, Saieva C, Bastiani P, Martella F, Francolini G, Lo Russo M, Paoletti L, Doria M, Desideri I, Terziani F, De Luca Cardillo C, Bendinelli B, Ciabatti C, Muntoni C, Tinacci G, Nori J, Smith H, Brancato B, Galli L, Sanchez LJ, Casella D, Bernini M, Orzalesi L, Carta GA, Bianchi S, Rossi F, Livi L.

Impact of hormonal status on outcome of ductal carcinoma in situ treated with breast-conserving surgery plus radiotherapy: Long-term experience from two large-institutional series. Breast. 2017 Jun;33:139-144. doi:

10.1016/j.breast.2017.03.017. Epub 2017 Apr 4. PubMed PMID: 28384565.

 

2: Meattini I, Saieva C, Miccinesi G, Desideri I, Francolini G, Scotti V, Marrazzo L, Pallotta S, Meacci F, Muntoni C, Bendinelli B, Sanchez LJ, Bernini M, Orzalesi L, Nori J, Bianchi S, Livi L. Accelerated partial breast irradiation using intensity modulated radiotherapy versus whole breast irradiation:Health-related quality of life final analysis from the Florence phase 3 trial.

Eur J Cancer. 2017 May;76:17-26. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2017.01.023. Epub 2017 Mar

3. PubMed PMID: 28262584.

 

3: Mangoni M, Sottili M, Gerini C, Desideri I, Bastida C, Pallotta S, Castiglione F, Bonomo P, Meattini I, Greto D, Olmetto E, Terziani F, Becherini C, Delli Paoli C, Trombetta L, Loi M, Biti G, Livi L. A PPAR gamma agonist protects against oral mucositis induced by irradiation in a murine model. Oral Oncol. 2017

Jan;64:52-58. doi: 10.1016/j.oraloncology.2016.11.018. Epub 2016 Dec 3. PubMed

PMID: 28024724.

 

4: Meattini I, Bicchierai G, Saieva C, De Benedetto D, Desideri I, Becherini C, Abdulcadir D, Vanzi E, Boeri C, Gabbrielli S, Lucci F, Sanchez L, Casella D, Bernini M, Orzalesi L, Vezzosi V, Greto D, Mangoni M, Bianchi S, Livi L, Nori J.

Impact of molecular subtypes classification concordance between preoperative core needle biopsy and surgical specimen on early breast cancer management: Single-institution experience and review of published literature. Eur J Surg

Oncol. 2017 Apr;43(4):642-648. doi: 10.1016/j.ejso.2016.10.025. Epub 2016 Nov 17.

Review. PubMed PMID: 27889196.

 

5: Livi L, Meattini I, Kaidar-Person O, Poortmans PM. Elective Nodal Irradiation in Breast Cancer: Time for Trials on the Basis of Tumor Biology. J Clin Oncol.

2016 Aug 1;34(22):2672-3. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2016.66.4276. Epub 2016 May 23. PubMed

PMID: 27217466.

 

6: Mangoni M, Sottili M, Gerini C, Bonomo P, Bottoncetti A, Castiglione F, Franzese C, Cassani S, Greto D, Masoni T, Meattini I, Pallotta S, Passeri A, Pupi A, Vanzi E, Biti G, Livi L. A PPAR-gamma agonist attenuates pulmonary injury induced by irradiation in a murine model. Lung Cancer. 2015 Dec;90(3):405-9. doi:

10.1016/j.lungcan.2015.11.005. Epub 2015 Nov 7. PubMed PMID: 26791799.

 

7: Scoccianti S, Detti B, Gadda D, Greto D, Furfaro I, Meacci F, Simontacchi G, Di Brina L, Bonomo P, Giacomelli I, Meattini I, Mangoni M, Cappelli S, Cassani S, Talamonti C, Bordi L, Livi L. Organs at risk in the brain and their dose-constraints in adults and in children: a radiation oncologist's guide for delineation in everyday practice. Radiother Oncol. 2015 Feb;114(2):230-8. doi:

10.1016/j.radonc.2015.01.016. Epub 2015 Feb 17. PubMed PMID: 25701297.

 

8: Livi L, Meattini I, Marrazzo L, Simontacchi G, Pallotta S, Saieva C, Paiar F, Scotti V, De Luca Cardillo C, Bastiani P, Orzalesi L, Casella D, Sanchez L, Nori J, Fambrini M, Bianchi S. Accelerated partial breast irradiation using intensity-modulated radiotherapy versus whole breast irradiation: 5-year survival analysis of a phase 3 randomised controlled trial. Eur J Cancer. 2015

Mar;51(4):451-63. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2014.12.013. Epub 2015 Jan 17. PubMed PMID:

25605582.

 

9: Meattini I, Desideri I, Saieva C, Francolini G, Scotti V, Bonomo P, Greto D, Mangoni M, Nori J, Orzalesi L, Fambrini M, Bianchi S, Livi L. Impact of sentinel node tumor burden on outcome of invasive breast cancer patients. Eur J Surg Oncol. 2014 Oct;40(10):1195-202. doi: 10.1016/j.ejso.2014.08.471. Epub 2014 Aug

20. PubMed PMID: 25179162.

 

10: Livi L, Meattini I, Franceschini D, Saieva C, Meacci F, Marrazzo L, Gerlain E, Desideri I, Scotti V, Nori J, Sanchez LJ, Orzalesi L, Bonomo P, Greto D, Bianchi S, Biti G. Radiotherapy boost dose-escalation for invasive breast cancer after breast-conserving surgery: 2093 patients treated with a prospective margin-directed policy. Radiother Oncol. 2013 Aug;108(2):273-8. doi:

10.1016/j.radonc.2013.02.009. Epub 2013 Mar 13. PubMed PMID: 23490271.

 

Previous research experiences

Radiotherapy Unit has been involved in clinical studies about new chemotherapeutic schedules, support therapies and biologic agents in several solid tumors, innovative schedule of fractiontion, technological innovation in radiation oncology, radioprotective and radiosensitizing agents, radiogenomics

 

Main scientific contributions

The team of Radiotherapy Unit has considerably contributed to knowledge in the field of partial breast irradiation, nodal irradiation and boost dose escalation in breast cancer, targeted and individualized treatments in breast cancer, prognostic markers in breast cancer, radiotherapy timing in breast cancer, cardiotoxicity in anticancer treatments, biologic and tailored treatments in prostate cancer, stereotactic radiotherapy with innovative technologies, dose-constraints and counturing in brain irradiation, postoperative radiotherapy in N2 lung cancer, radioprotection of normal tissues with PPAR gamma agonists, radiogenomics. The paper “Association between Genetic Polymorphisms in the XRCC1, XRCC3, XPD, GSTM1, GSTT1, MSH2, MLH1, MSH3, and MGMT Genes and Radiosensitivity in Breast Cancer Patients” International Journal of Radiation Oncology Biology Physics (2011) 81,1, 52-58, has been selected through the ASTRO CME selection process, to be feature article for an online ASTRO/Red Journal CME offering in 2011. This paper reports an association between genetic variants and the development of radiosensitivity in breast cancer patients.

Collaborations

Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France

Institut Curie, Paris, France

Royal Mardsen Hospital, London, UK

Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, USA

Maryland Proton Treatment Center – University of Maryland, Baltimore, USA

Eberhard Karls University, Tübingen, Germany

 

Links

Fondazione Firenze Radioterapia Oncologica http://www.ffro.it

 
ultimo aggiornamento: 27-Lug-2018
Unifi Home Page

Inizio pagina